The Forum for Discussion about The Third Manifesto and Related Matters

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Why 'Join'?

Why is (natural) join called 'Join'? Codd uses the term without explaining it [1970, wording much the same as 1969]. But Codd seems to use (Natural) 'Join' only for what today we'd call 'lossless Join'. Childs [1968] seems not to use the term -- although it's hard work wading through his paper.

Appendix A says its <AND> "is relational conjunction", "might logically be called conjoin". Etymologically, the Latin 'iugare' from which English 'junction' is cognate with French 'joindre' from which English 'join'.

When I started programming (late 1970's, on 'mid-range systems' with Indexed-Sequential files, when 'relational' was only available on 'big iron'), we didn't use the term. I.S. files used operations similar to Excel 'lookup' via (what amounted to) Foreign Keys -- say from Invoices to Customer Master. RPG was innovative with automatic lookup provided by the program cycle.

So (if anybody here can remember the mid-'70's), what would 'Join' mean to you before you learnt about the RM?

I presume Codd took the term from Maths. The most likely candidate would seem to be lattice theory. But ... latticists use 'meet' for what corresponds most closely to conjunction. That is, considering the simple examples of a lattice structure over the powerset of some set. Pic 1 here. And indeed Tropashko models (Natural) Join as lattice 'meet'; with his 'Inner Union' modelled as lattice 'join'. Really any other way of modelling would be very confusing in latticeland.

I did a lot of ISAM through the 70s and 80s, and it was very much about 'lookup'. Start with the customer, build a hierarchical tree by iterating over invoices and then over line items, pull in other files and fields as needed. Or start from a line item, lookup the invoice and the customer.