The Forum for Discussion about The Third Manifesto and Related Matters

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Support for JOIN alternatives

PreviousPage 2 of 3Next
Quote from Dave Voorhis on November 26, 2018, 1:08 pm
Quote from asulling on November 26, 2018, 6:25 am

Thanks for updating the Rel development "to do" list and making things clearer to me! As I mentioned in the Rel forum, I am relatively new to Rel, Tutorial D and the underlying theory. I am considering to use the Rel DBMS in a project, trying it out. And I am extremely slow at responding, unfortunately.

By "cohesive information output" (sorry about lacking accuracy) I meant that e.g. not-has-a-phone-number might be useful information outside the database although not a phone number, and it sticks with the person in focus. And a Rel-specific extension or similar is what I meant by "a more versatile set of output operations". I hope that my command of English is good enough for this forum.

I wouldn't want to include people without phone numbers in a list of each person's phone numbers, because a not-has-a-phone-number isn't a phone number.

There can be more than one reason for the guy I am trying to contact not showing up in the contacts listing using the plain natural JOIN, assuming that the UI designer has done a good job in minimizing the number of clicks needed to reach the target by displaying phone numbers right next to the persons who have one, and I don't have to make an extra click to open all his contacts with e-mail, homepage and other irrelevant data:

- he doesn't have a phone;
- the guy hasn't even registered yet;