The Forum for Discussion about The Third Manifesto and Related Matters

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Meaning of a relation

Page 1 of 10Next

Hi! Before I muddle into what may be real questions or perhaps just muddled thinking or rubber-ducking, let me introduce myself.

My name is Torbjörn (or Tobe) and I have been programming for 40 years in varying fields: cryptanalysis, customs & excise, real-time video-calls and telephony & networks. I am not very academic although I was extremely close to completing my bachelors in Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics and have read about computer-sciency things as interest and need has taken me.

Many years ago, close to the turn of the century, I read a short article on something called "rel" that was supposedly much more mathematicaly correct than SQL and filed it away in my head as something to follow up on at a future time. At about the same time I was hugely enjoying working with XSLT and started having an idea of creating a programming language that allowed programming in an XSLT-like way with template-like transforms, and that idea lay and baked for about 15 years.

In 2018, inspired by a colleague who was using SQL to implement some business logic (nobody else understood any of it), I decided to try to do the AdventOfCode in SQL (on mariadb) to hopefully learn something interesting. It turned out to be the wrong year for that with very large assignments and lots of iteration, but I did 9 head-hurting and mind-expanding days. As a side note, I had the idea of maybe doing 2020 in Rel, but it seemed it might be a little hard to parse the input in Rel.