The Forum for Discussion about The Third Manifesto and Related Matters

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Are inclusion dependencies reducible to foreign-key dependencies?

PreviousPage 7 of 9Next
Quote from Erwin on October 18, 2019, 7:15 am
Quote from AntC on October 17, 2019, 1:52 am

Well if I have an empty relation of degree 1, what is the MST of its attribute? I want to say that for each rootT there is an omegaT which is 'the' subtype of T that contains no values, in which T is the declared (or inferred) attribute type.

In that case, I'd suspect we have no need for omega. That is, types form a hierarchy (or semilattice with alpha at the top) not a lattice. In that case, I question whether we need alpha, especially since there can be no scalar types at alpha.

"What is the MST of its attribute" is a wrong question to ask.  MST is a property of a value, not of an attribute of a nonscalar value (an attribute is a member of a heading / nonscalar type declaration, but an attribute is not a value).  So while you can ask what the MST is of an empty relation of some relation type, and it would be answerable, your question isn't really answerable.

Correct.

The MST of your empty relation will have an attribute declared to be of type the minimal type corresponding to the attribute type declaration in the relation type your empty relation is declared to be of (OMEGA if that attribute is scalar).

Not correct. The attribute is declared as per some heading somewhere. Every attribute is required to give the name of its type. and that will be its declared type.If the null relation is the result of a JOIN or similar, it's still possible to trace the declared type back to where it was declared. The IM has no problem with that.

But the minimal type is quite a different beast, and is never the MST of any value. Down that path lies type madness. Letting the MST default to be the declared type is safe and always works, AFAICT.