The Forum for Discussion about The Third Manifesto and Related Matters

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Type checking/inference, practical application?

Page 1 of 4Next

I'm building a programming language (https://tablam.org) with the hope to be truly practical for all-around programming (alike python) and not just to be part of an RDBMS. I land on the relational stuff because, as a user, I think is pretty simple to understand. Also, I was a FoxPro developer looking to replicate that user/developer experience in modern times.

Now I'm deciding if adding a type checker+inference to the lang for the first version. What for me is YES/NO is how hard could be and how practical.

The main trouble is that the demand to write the headings for complex JOINs/Queries become unpractical in certain cases so I think I need to also add type inference, so the lang computes the types for me in certain scenarios. A classic example is a CROSS JOIN between several tables. This is not as obvious to me, and not much info as to how actually implement it.

I stumble upon these promising resources:

The first claim to solve subtyping for records and the second have a foundation for the type inference with the lens of a relational model.

The lang I'm aiming for has (or will):

• Scripting feels, to be used alike python, so you can do terminal apps, web apps, etc. It means loops, user-defined types, functions, etc.
  • 0-2 dimensional vectors (a scalar is a vector of 1 row/column. A empty value is a vector of 0/0 with the type attached). This is like an in-build APL/kdb+/pandas interface
  • BTrees/HashMaps
  • Sequences/streams (iterator/generator builders so can load data from external sources)
  • All the above are relations with all the relational operators (read-only) defined and potential CRUD operators if the source is read-write.
  • Algebraic types (so, no nulls)